Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Award

The award is named in honor of the centennial of the birth of Illinois Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks.

Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Award is available thanks to the Illinois Humanities partnered with Our Miss Brooks 100 and the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts.

Their aim is to bring back the youth poetry awards that this young lady used to award.

Full Description

Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Award has the aim to promote creative writing and to encourage local writers to keep on writing and try to reach great success in this field.

The award for first place is $500, second place is $300 and third place is $100.

Winning poems might be published in “Ninth Letter,” “Quiddity” and “RHINO” journals.

It is significant to know that the submission deadline is April 30th, so make sure you submit the application and poems prior to that date.

The foundation is offering three youth poetry writing workshops in preparation for the submission deadline.

Who's eligible?

When the eligibility requirements are in question, you should know that the contest is open to young people currently in Kindergarten through 12th grade across the state of Illinois.

This award is available to young people attending any school – public, private, home or other institution.

How to Apply

Only one poem written by only one author can be submitted and it should not exceed 16 lines for young people in grades K-5 and 50 lines for poems submitted by young people in grades 6-12.

You are suggested to submit only those poems that were recently written, as they are judged based on grade level.

The applicant can submit their poem or the poem can be submitted by a parent/guardian or teacher using

Besides the poem, you are supposed to enter your name on the entry form, but not on the poem itself, since the judging is anonymous.

The winners will be announced by July 1st and will be honored at an Awards Ceremony to take place at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts at the University of Chicago on August 1st.

Related Scholarships